Sunday, December 13, 2020



I was so looking forward to returning to Victory Street with the Bryant Sisters.  This book was as good, if not better than the first.  The Bryant Sisters series is absolutely phenomenal.

The Bryant Sisters are back performing on Victory Street.  Bella is in love with Bobby Harrison who returns home after being injured when his plane went down.  Bobby is in love with Bella and wants to marry her, but Bella has yet to tell him about her son Levi.  She is afraid that when he finds out  that she has a son, that he won’t want to marry her.  Bella’s son is with her mother and sister in Northern Whales because she knows that it is a safe place for him to be, while the war effort still in full swing.  As the story progresses you can’t help but find yourself connecting emotionally with the characters.  This is a story, of love, loss, trust, emotional saga and hope. 

For those that love to read historical fiction, this one is a must.  Like the first novel The Girls of Victory this novel was just as gripping and engrossing.  This unputdownable book will have you up all night flying through the pages.  Get comfy because once you start this book, you won’t be able to stop until the very end.  I loved the continuation of this series, and I look forward to more.


Rating: 5 out of 5.


Author:  Pam Howes

Publisher:  Bookouture 
Publication Date: December 11, 2020 
Pages: 232 
Buy on Amazon 

Liverpool, 1943. For Bella Rogers, life is looking up. She loves performing with The Bryant Sisters, the singing trio who have become the country’s sweethearts, putting a smile on the faces of the brave boys fighting the Nazis. But then tragedy strikes when a telegram arrives: Bella’s beloved father has been killed in France.

Unlike her poor Mam, Bella has someone to share her grief with. Her childhood love Bobby is home from the war. He lost a leg but she counts her blessings every day that he’s alive when so many young men haven’t made it back. Bella longs to give her heart to Bobby but she is hiding a secret that may change their lives forever. Will he still love her if she reveals the truth?

But when bombs screech down on Victory Street in the middle of the night, blowing houses apart, Bella may lose both the home she loves and the family who mean everything to her. With so much loss around her, will Bella be brave enough to snatch her chance of happiness? And when the war is finally over, will wedding bells ring out on Victory Street again?


Pam Howes was born in Cheshire. She is an ex Interior Designer who began writing seriously in the mid nineties. The idea for her first novel, set in the sixties, was inspired by her time as a teenager, working in a local record store and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. That first novel evolved into a series set in the fictional town of Pickford, based on her home town of Stockport. Three Steps to Heaven; ‘Til I Kissed You; Always On My Mind; Not Fade Away, and That’ll Be The Day, follow the lives and loves through the decades of fictional Rock’n’Roll band The Raiders. Pam is a big fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to write the series. A stand-alone true-life romance, Fast Movin’ Train, set in the nineties, was published in early 2012. Pam is mum to three adult daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren, and roadie to one musician partner.

Pam recently signed a second contract with the award winning publisher Bookouture and the first novel in her new Lark Lane series, The Factory Girls of Lark Lane, will be published in July 2018. Her first series for Bookouture – The Mersey Trilogy – is available in E book, paperback and as audio books.

No comments:

Post a Comment