Tuesday, November 08, 2022



Liverpool, 1956: The results of the war are still very evident with so much destruction everywhere.  It’s been nine years since the war ended and people are still trying to rebuild what they have left of their lives.  Victory Street residents receive word that Queen Elizabeth and her husband Prince Phillip are going to visit them.  With so much work to be done, they wonder if they will ever finish in time for the Royal visit.  Bella Harrison has worries of her own when her fourteen year old son Levi tells her that he is moving to America to be with his father’s family.  Bella can’t imagine Levi living so far away, he is all she has. Bella receives some heartbreaking news from America, Bella and Levi’s lives are once again turned upside down.  With Victory Street preparing for the Queen's visit, Bella wonders if she has it in her heart to sing in the festivities or will she find herself too emotional to celebrate anything in her life.

I am always so happy to return to Victory Street.  The inspiring and courageous residents are very intriguing.  I feel like the residents of Victory Street are close friends and family.  This heart-warming story pulled me glued to the pages and I couldn’t put this book down until the very last page.  This book had my emotions running wild.  I reached for the Kleenex box a few times.  I loved the storyline of a royal visit from Queen Elizabeth, brilliant.  I love the Bryant Sister’s Series and this book was a wonderful addition to the series.  This book can be read as a stand-alone novel, but don’t pass up the opportunity to read this amazing series from the beginning.  I definitely recommend this book.

Thank you Pam Howes for such a phenomenal continuation to this amazing Bryant Sisters Series.  I loved it. 


Rating: 5 out of 5.


Author:  Pam Howes 
Publisher: Bookouture 
Publication Date: November 8, 2022 
Pages: 281 
Buy on Amazon 

1956, Liverpool. With the shadow of the war looming over them and bomb craters littering the surrounding streets, hope feels far away for the residents of Victory Street. When they learn that the Queen has chosen to visit them on a tour of Liverpool, the delighted neighbours bring back the wartime spirit. Can they possibly get the street ready in time?

Even a royal visit cannot take away 
Bella Harrison’s worries. Her son, fourteen-year-old Levi, has just told her he wants to move to America to join the rest of his father’s family. The news has so shocked Bella that she’s not sure she’ll be able to sing for the Queen, jeopardising all their plans for the big day.

Life has been hard for Levi, growing up as a mixed-race boy in Liverpool, but he’s the light of Bella’s life. The thought of losing him brings back the terrible memories of her father and sister dying during the war. If everyone pulls together to make the Queen’s visit an unforgettable celebration, perhaps she can persuade Levi that Victory Street is where he belongs.

But when Levi receives heartbreaking news from America and his move becomes uncertain, Bella starts to wonder if all her efforts to keep him in Liverpool have been for the right reasons. 
Can Bella find it in herself to sing for the big celebration, and make the right choice for her beloved son?


Pam Howes was born in Cheshire. She is an ex Interior Designer who began writing seriously in the mid nineties. The idea for her first novel, set in the sixties, was inspired by her time as a teenager, working in a local record store and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. That first novel evolved into a series set in the fictional town of Pickford, based on her home town of Stockport. Three Steps to Heaven; ‘Til I Kissed You; Always On My Mind; Not Fade Away, and That’ll Be The Day, follow the lives and loves through the decades of fictional Rock’n’Roll band The Raiders. Pam is a big fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to write the series. A stand-alone true-life romance, Fast Movin’ Train, set in the nineties, was published in early 2012. Pam is mum to three adult daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren, and roadie to one musician partner.

Pam recently signed a second contract with the award winning publisher Bookouture and the first novel in her new Lark Lane series, The Factory Girls of Lark Lane, will be published in July 2018. Her first series for Bookouture – The Mersey Trilogy – is available in E book, paperback and as audio books.

No comments:

Post a Comment