Saturday, November 19, 2022



England, 1868:  Sarah is only eighteen years old when she becomes the sole guardian of her little sister Lucy.  They have no place to live and no money.  But Sarah promised to protect Lucy no matter what.  She would do anything for Lucy and that includes marrying James Mills.  He is an older man, and a widower, and marrying him is better than the alternative of countless hours in a workhouse.  Present day: Ellen is living in the picturesque village of Goswell on the Cumbria coast.  She loves her life and is extremely happy.  But when her seventeen year old stepdaughter moves in, Ellen’s life comes crashing down.  When they find a death certificate for a woman named Sarah, they bond together and begin to uncover the mystery.  The story of Sarah impacts many lives and continues to unite family members so many years later.

This is the third installment in the amazing series of Goswell Quartet.  This was such an emotional story and it was also an inspiring one.  I was reaching for the Kleenex box a few times during this story.  My emotions were running wild from the first page to the last.  I found this book to be completely heartbreaking and captivating at the same time.  This story of love, hope and second chances is one that I won’t forget any time soon.  I loved this wonderful addition to this series.  I definitely recommend this emotional story that can be read as part of the series or a stand-alone.

Thank you Kate Hewitt for such a phenomenal continuation to this amazing series, I loved it.


Rat ing: 5 out of 5.


Author:  Kate Hewitt
Publisher: Bookouture 
Publication Date: November 17, 2022 
Pages: 404 
Buy on Amazon 

She clutched the piece of paper close to her chest, tears welling in her eyes, hardly believing what she had read. Silently thanking Sarah for all she sacrificed, she took the death certificate and slipped it under a loose floorboard – no one must ever find out what she’d done…

England, 1868: Orphaned and penniless, 18-year-old Sarah is left the sole guardian of her beloved little sister Lucy – who she’s vowed to protect at all costs. With nowhere left to turn, she is forced to accept mysterious widower James Mills’ proposal of marriage.

She believes being his bride can’t possibly be as bad as the threat of the workhouse. But nothing prepares her for the darkness of her marriage, the shocking secrets of her new family and the lengths she will have to go to, to keep her sister safe…

Now: Living in the beautiful village of Goswell, Ellen believes her family life to be idyllic… until her estranged seventeen-year-old stepdaughter Annabelle moves in and shatters the peace. Ellen fears they will never bond, until she finds a death certificate – for a woman named Sarah, from over a century earlier – hidden under the floorboards of their house, and Annabelle starts to help her unravel the mystery.

Yet as Ellen and Annabelle dig deeper into Sarah’s life and death, shocking truths, both past and present, come to light which change everything Ellen thought she knew about Sarah’s family – and the new addition to her own…


Kate Hewitt is the bestselling author of many novels of women’s fiction, including the Hartley-by-the-Sea series set in the Lake District, the Willoughby Close series set in the Cotswolds, and Tales From Goswell written as Katharine Swartz. Her novel A Mother’s Goodbye has been called ‘unputdownable’ and ‘the most emotional book I have ever read’ by readers. Her latest novel, Not My Daughter, is out now, and No Time to Say Goodbye is available for preorder.

She lives in a small market town in Wales with her husband and five young(ish) children, along with their two Golden Retrievers. Join her newsletter for monthly updates and giveaways on her website, or be part of her Facebook groups Kate’s Reads.

No comments:

Post a Comment